Burntfield prepare to release Impermanence – ‘Empty Dream’ out now

Three years on from their highly praised debut album, Hereafter, Amsterdam’s Burntfield have returned with the next chapter in their story, the quite beautiful Impermanence. Eight new finely crafted songs, eight new pieces of articulate and expressive modern, progressive rock that explore the fragility of existence, the way in which our worlds can turn from gold to grey between the inhaling and exhaling of a breath. Burntfield was formed by guitarist-singer-songwriter Juho Myllylä in Helsinki, in 2012 and with each release the band has blossomed a little more, the music becoming more immersive, more emotionally affecting. Now, with Impermanence, everything about this remarkable musical entity has come to fruition. Each song is immaculately formed, imbued with an aching honesty and performed with a deft and subtle touch, allowing the melancholic melodies to float freely across the intricate sonic landscapes of heartbreak and precious, frozen moments from the past. When the album begins, with ‘Empty Dream’, the listener slips beneath the surface of their consciousness, being lead down the paths of memory, away from the present moment, by Myllylä’s earnest voice and the enchanted strands of music, the insistent pulse of the rhythms. Impermanence has every quality you would hope to find in a modern progressive rock album, but it has another dimension as well, an intimacy, a poignancy…time spent in its embrace is time well spent indeed. Progressive Gears Records will release Impermanence on November 12th on CD and vinyl, adorned with the wonderful imagery of Jesse Harrison which completes this stunning piece of work perfectly. Walk with Burntfield, taste the bittersweetness of lost innocence remembered and shed a tear for the impermanence of all we hold dear.

Track Listing:

1 – Empty Dream
2 – Back Again
3 – Trust In You
4 – Something Real
5 – The Light
6 – Thank You For Everything
7 – Impermanence
8 – Everything Will Change

Burntfield – Impermanence cover art by Jesse Harrison

New album Impermanence – 1st single ‘Something Real’ out now

Impermanence is the second album from Burntfield, set for release on Progressive Gears on 12 November 2021.

Burntfield – Impermanence cover art by Jesse Harrison

Something Real, the first single from Impermanence is out now on digital platforms and as a music video on YouTube.

The song features and was brought to another level by a heartfelt and soulful vocal performance by Veera-Selina Lajoma – thank you so so much! 🙏

🎥 Video by Topias Kupiainen, assisted by Severi Kasurinen.

Thanks to Arts Promotion Centre Finland (Taiteen edistämiskeskus) for the support!

Hereafter 2-year anniversary!

Today it’s been TWO (2!) years since the release of our debut album Hereafter on Progressive Gears Records! Hear Juho Myllylä say a few words on the occasion of the anniversary and perform a live solo acoustic rendition of one of the album tracks, Sub-zero in this video. 

Hereafter is available for purchase in CD digipack and digital formats through the PGR Bigcartel store, Bandcamp and all major download/streaming outlets – thanks for supporting independent artists!

In the studio – album #2 in the works!

Burntfield have commenced recording their sophomore album, a follow-up to 2018’s Hereafter, released on Progressive Gears Records. The core trio of Juho Myllylä, Maarten Vos and Steven Favier flew to Helsinki, Finland to enter Sonic Pump Studios where bass and drums were recorded. Engineered again by Eero Kaukomies of Content Union Studios, the new album sees a continuation of a long-term partnership (since the beginning of Burntfield in 2013). We were also joined by long-time session keyboardist for Burntfield and sound wizard Arttu Vauhkonen – we’re grateful to once again have his input on the new album.

The work goes on – stay tuned for more updates on the recording process on Burntfield’s Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

The team after having the bass & drums recorded for the whole album.

Progfrog announcement

We regret to announce that Valtteri Seppänen has taken the decision to step out from Burntfield with immediate effect. This means that in these unfortunate circumstances we are forced to cancel our performance at ProgFrog Holland on 22 September. We feel truly sorry for having to pull out, however, IT & Quiet Wish from the Progressive Gears artist roster will still deliver a fantastic double-bill concert worth seeing.

Burntfield will continue the work in progress on our second album, with pre-production well underway and recordings to commence later in the year, aiming for a 2020 release and live action with a new line-up.

We hope you’re all having a great summer filled with music – keep in touch and see you back soon!

PGR Presents: two live dates in the Netherlands and Belgium in April!

We’re delighted to announce two live dates in The Netherlands and Belgium at the end of April. These shows with an all Progressive Gears Records triple-bill – Burntfield, IT & Naryan – will mark the first PGR Presents events in mainland Europe.

See below for details!

WPC Nederland 3, Wateringen (NL)
Doors 21:00
Showtime 22:15
Tickets 5€ on the door

The Crossover Music Pub, Gent (BE)
Showtime 19:00
Free admission


Time flies – it’s been ~2,5 years since we last played live in our original home country. 
It’s about time we’re able to announce two upcoming live dates in Tampere and Helsinki this February! For these shows we’re joining forces with our Progressive Gears Records label mates Naryan and their distinctive blend of atmospheric melancholic rock, as well as Keoma (in Helsinki). We really do hope to see many of our Finnish friends out there in February.

Friday 15/02 | 23:00-
Jack the Rooster, Tampere
➡ Naryan & Burntfield (NL) at Jack the Rooster

Saturday 16/02 | 20:30-
Bar Loose, Helsinki
➡ Kaamos I: Keoma, Naryan, Burntfield (NL) // 16.2. // Bar Loose

Photo: Olli-Pekka Orpo

New show in The Hague added!

We’re pleased to announce an addition to our upcoming shows in The Netherlands: Saturday 23 February 2019 at Popradar Den Haag. The evening will be kicked off by The Dame and their unmistakable “sexy version of progressive rock”. See you in The Hague in February!

Location: Radar Café
Admission: Free

Two live dates in The Netherlands announced!

We’re glad to announce our first two shows in The Netherlands in 2019:

Latenstaan, Zoetermeer 12 January and Volta, Amsterdam 17 January! 

We’ll be hitting the stages together with Novatia, Nice Beaver & Joy Killed the Duke.

→ Amsterdam

To be continued – look out for more announcements to come for what is to be an exciting and eventful year!

Olli-Pekka Orpo | ollipekkaorpo.com

Olli-Pekka Orpo | ollipekkaorpo.com